Art and the philosophy of life

Okay, so…(1 picture)

I’ve been reading about artists, right?  I read about a performance artist that’s quite famous.  Personally, I think she’s not wrapped too tightly.  She had a horrible childhood and is acting out through her art.  The text that went with the photographs of her working, left me wondering why anyone would think that what she did, was art.

She’s an exhibitionist.  She was a masochist as well, but apparently that was left behind.  She likes being naked and she used to like being covered in blood.  Not my kind of art.  And watching her go to the bathroom and living in boxes on the wall…yeah, no thanks.  Anyone can go to the bathroom and just because you do it in a museum, in front of an audience, doesn’t make it art.

My idea of art does not include any of the things she does.  I think she needs help.  The way she explains what she does…she wants to involve the viewer, the audience, the people.

At one point she and the man she was working with, stood naked in a tiny door way, facing each other.  The people who wanted to get into the museum, had to pass between them.  There wasn’t enough room, of course, so people had to squeeze through.  She thought it was interesting, about which direction the person faced.  Toward her, or toward the man.How is that art?  I must not get it, which is possible, I totally admit that.  To me, that’s just a party that lasted too long.

The woman is dying for attention. Is that art, or a mental disorder?  I mean I guess it matters where you’re naked, but calling it an art exhibit is a joke…at least to me.  I must be the only one though, since, as I said, she’s well known and wins awards.  I guess I’m just not artistically educated enough to see what she does, as anything but a cry for help.  I think the nicest thing the audience could do would be to not show up.

As the famous artist Marcel Duchamp once said: “Art is whatever the artist says it is.”

 

Image result for Mechell+deucamp

 

 

Comments on: "Okay, so…(1 picture)" (8)

  1. Well, then I’m completely uneducated as well cause NO, not art! I can understand one person having a mental disorder or just being deluded enough to think that WHATEVER they do is note worthy…BUT what i don’t get are all the people who like it! who support it… who PAY to see/experience it. They are just as crazy!

    • When she started out she would roll around in blood and another time she had all dead animal bones, after they were slaughtered brought to her and she scrubbed them clean, while covered in their blood. And that’s supposed to be art? I think she’s sick. I agree about the viewers. Who would pay to see that and not throw up.

  2. I was just reading a quote about how art is what the people say is art – and then there are the critical views from
    Educators – trainer critics and lay people – and so your MD quote added to that – art is often what the artist says.
    But I am with you regarding the poor taste here
    Narcissism is a disorder where the person has so many under needs they are always “me me me me” and then as you noted maybe not right in the head – many folks who “need” to parade nude have had childhood problems – or they have a wrong view of beauty – (it is sexual object beauty) or they have little respect for their privacy because of deeper issues-
    So what you discern was similar to what I think too
    – you said it well
    And then there are sensationalists –
    Anyhow
    – I get it that art is always changing and this performance art is huge right now – but the perversion seems here with this one – esp making people walk between the naked people

    • Someone bought a shovel at the hardware store and hung on the wall in a museum. All those things are called READY MADE art. The thing is, if you or I did that, they would think we were insane. So, I guess you have be a recognized artist to hang the shovel. It’s all so silly. At least to me.

  3. EW! I won’t show up.
    I never thought Lady Gaga said anything wearing the meat dress. First, it was already done in 1987 by Jana Sterbak. Second, all I could think of was the poor animals that had to die for her to make her point, which could have been achieved with silicone meat… or painting of meat, or just something else. To me she is Lady Gag ( as in a choke joke). Always will be.

Leave a comment