Art and the philosophy of life

Beneath The Sweater And The Skin How many years of beauty do I have left? she asks me. How many more do you want? Here. Here is 34. Here is 50. When you are 80 years old and your beauty rises in ways your cells cannot even imagine now and your wild bones grow luminous […]

via beneath. — I didn’t have my glasses on….

Comments on: "beneath. — I didn’t have my glasses on…." (8)

  1. shining beauty with age

  2. Coming dangerously close to 80 …..I appreciate this. I no longer chase youth but am now mesmerized by the progress of my aging body. I am grateful to be able to see the wonder of age rather than the loss. Ashes to ashes.

    • It is a beautiful post. Aging is a strange thing to me. I understand the scientific/physical process but think it’s mean and unnecessary. We’re a bad design, full of flaws. I doubt that, in the future, evolution will change that but scientific will. Look at all the things they’re already doing and we’re really on the ground floor. If I had my way we would be perfect, until our expiration date. But that’s probably just me. I’m not good at accepting things that seem ridiculous and aging seems ridiculous to me. Like a punishment for not dying. I’m lucky but too many people aren’t. It’s cruel and serves no purpose, when people could be productive and having fun instead. I don’t believe in misery or suffering. Some people think it’s necessary, I’m not one of them. Believe me. What I’ve learned from my son and husband dying is that I didn’t want them to die. I knew that BEFORE they died. Like I said, I don’t accept things that don’t make sense. We don’t make sense. Aging doesn’t ever make sense…what about use it or lose it? That’s a lie. If that were true, we’d never wear out. LOL Yeah, again is another thing that happens whether we like it or not. You are always wonderful and grateful. You’re holistic and a fabulous person. I see the flaws in the design and the violence in all aspects of life, including aging. It’s just mean.

Leave a comment