Art and the philosophy of life

“The ladies at table three need more tea and cookies,” said Mona, when Carla came back inside.

“On it,” she said.

The day continued as usual.  Eventually the body was removed, but the yellow tape remained in place.  Finally, when the last crumpet was eaten and the door was closed for the night, Mona and Carla sat down and talked about Dickie and their entire day.

“I asked him to kiss me.”

Mona choked on her tea and couldn’t catch her breath.  Once she was able to inhale properly, she started laughing.  “I wish I could have seen his face.”

“He had his back to me, or I’d tell you what he looked like.”

“You shouldn’t tease him like that.”

“Why not?  He spend half his life at my house playing video games with my brother.  There was always a place set at the table for him.  I thought eventually my parent were going to adopt him and just get it over with.”

Mona nodded.  “I’m surprised they didn’t.  He turned out okay because of your family.  You know that, don’t you?”

“I do.  That’s why I get to tease him whenever I want.  He’s family.”

“Don’t tease him when he’s on the job.  He’ll look bad in front of his co-workers.”

“Co-workers?  You mean the guys who played basketball in the park and somehow turned into cops?”

“That’s exactly who I mean.”

“I could tease all of those guys.”

“No doubt, but don’t.”

“I’m going to take the garbage out and head home,” said Carla.  “I might stop by the dead guy’s place.”

“DO NOT STOP BY THE DEAD GUY’S PLACE!!”

“That’s what Dickie said,” she laughed, picking up the garbage bag.  “See you tomorrow.”

“DON’T STOP AT THE DEAD GUY’S PLACE,” yelled Mona…again.

“Hey,” said Carla, coming back inside a few minutes later.  “There’s a dead guy out back.”

“We already did that today,” said Mona, putting the cash into the safe.

“No, this is a different dead guy.”

Dickie looked tired, when he walked in.  “How did you get another dead guy in your yard?”

“Hey, don’t look at me,” said Mona.  “I don’t even know how we got the first one.”

“Do you think their blood will hurt, the Oak tree?” asked Carla.

Dickie and Mona looked at her.

“What?  That’s a reasonable question,” she said.  “It’s a nice old tree.  I don’t want anything bad to happen to it.”

“She’s right,” said Mona.  “I’ll look it up later.”

“If there’s anything missing from this body, don’t look at me,” huffed Carla.  “You were very ungrateful last time I tried to help, so you’re on your own.”

“Again,” said Dickie, looking at Mona, “why do you still hang out with her?  She’s insane.”

“Oh, come on, you know you love her.”

“I didn’t say I didn’t love her.  I said she’s insane.”

“I am not insane,” said Carla.  “That was a mean thing to say and I used to split my popsicles with you when we were little.  I’m just different that you two.  That doesn’t mean there’s anything wrong with me.”

“She’s right,” said Mona.  “There’s nothing wrong with her.”

Dickie nodded.  “She did split all her popsicles with me.”

“I know,” smiled Mona.  “So did I.”

A dog sat outside the back door.

“Hi Charlie,” said Mona,  letting him in.  The black lab leaned against her as she scratched his hears.  “How was your day?”

“I bet he knows things about the dead guys,” said Carla,  kissing the dog’s face. “Don’t you baby.”

Charlie barked and went to the door.  Everyone looked at him.

“What can it hurt?” said Mona.

They all got up and followed Charlie into the yard.

 

 

 

Comments on: "A Little Mystery…Usually hurts someone… Chapter THREE" (9)

  1. Now you’re talkin! Or rather, Charlie will? So to speak, of course.

  2. So to speak. LOL Charlie is a good dog.

  3. Now, THIS is what I call diaglog!

    “Hey,” said Carla, coming back inside a few minutes later. “There’s a dead guy out back.”

    “We already did that today,” said Mona, putting the cash into the safe.

    “No, this is a different dead guy.”

    Dickie looked tired, when he walked in. “How did you get another dead guy in your yard?”

    “Hey, don’t look at me,” said Mona. “I don’t even know how we got the first one.”

  4. A fabulous story going in here. Loving it.

Leave a comment