Art and the philosophy of life

Uncle Edgar…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnother “found” photo.  This one is marked Uncle Edgar.  I’m assuming he was named after Poe.  That’s why he was an unhappy child.  As he grew older, however, he changed.  He started thinking about life in a different way.  So when war began, as it always does, Uncle Edgar joined up.  Little did he know that he was far ahead of his time.

Uncle Edgar, you see, was a flower child.  He believed in peace, love and harmony and because he believed in these things, he decided to spread love and flowers among the “enemy.”  He wore flowers everyday.  He sang songs of peace and he did his best to stop people from killing each other.  He was amazingly unsuccessful, of course, but he remained undeterred.

An interviewer at heart, having worked for a local newspaper when he was a boy, Uncle Edgar would find the enemy but rather than shoot or capture them, he would try to get them to sit down and talk about their families and their political point of view.  Unfortunately, the enemy rarely spoke English, which made it impossible for Uncle Edgar to understand a single word that anyone was screaming at him.  The actions of the enemy were much easier to decipher; they simply wanted to kill him. Uncle Edgar wrote thousands of letters to his loved ones, however, and those letters are archived at the public library in his home town.

Some of the soldiers made fun of Uncle Edgar.  Not because of the flowers in his hat or even because of the stars he had  tattooed on his face, but because of the ravens who followed him everywhere he went.  And yes, his middle name was Allan.  And no, no one knows if he was the original Poe, reincarnated, but they did look alike.  You can see it if you squint, really hard, while looking at their pictures, laying side by side.  And, it is said that people never wanted to visit his mother’s house because they could hear a heart beating loudly, in each and every room.

Uncle Edgar came home from the war disillusioned.  He sat down at his kitchen table and started drinking coffee, among other things.  He stayed at the table for eleven months and then he got a dog.  He started going out, taking Annabell Lee for walks, and within weeks he was handing out flowers to the people he met on the street.  He did this until he retired, after which he started writing letters to people he never met, on the walls in his living room.  Eventually, the letters were transcribed and made into a book, which became an instant bestseller.

Even though Uncle Edgar was a tad strange, he was well liked.  His favorite food was oatmeal.  He liked brown socks and he loved red plaid shirts, although, he only wore dark green. After his passing, his house was inducted into the local historical society and tours were given at three in the afternoon, everyday, including Christmas.  Apparently, Uncle Edgar not only wrote on the living room walls, he wrote on the walls in the hallway and on the walls in one of the upstairs bedrooms, as well.   People were more than happy to stand in line, in order to read his work first hand.  His coffee cup is still sits on the kitchen table and Annabell Lee’s dish remains on the floor, near the back door.  Her leash hangs over the doorknob.   There are always fresh flowers on the counter and a small sign saying, “Help yourself.”   A lovely tribute to a flower child, who was born  way before his time.

Comments on: "Uncle Edgar…" (33)

  1. Very affecting piece, Gigi.

  2. risinghawk said:

    Love this so creative! Peace . . .

  3. Your character is so alive. 🙂 Very well done.

  4. OMG, I ❤ this so much! You are fabulous 🙂

    ▒▒▒▒▒████████▒▒▒▒▒
    ▒▒▒███▒▒██▒▒███▒▒▒
    ▒▒██▒▒▒▒██▒▒▒▒██▒▒
    ▒██▒▒▒▒▒██▒▒▒▒▒██▒
    ▒██▒▒▒▒████▒▒▒▒██▒
    ▒██▒▒▒██████▒▒▒██▒
    ▒▒██▒██▒██▒██▒██▒▒
    ▒▒▒███▒▒██▒▒███▒▒▒
    ▒▒▒▒▒████████▒▒▒▒▒
    Look at this cool text art i found! I hope it comes out right 🙂

  5. laurie27wsmith said:

    Quite inventive there Gigi. 🙂

  6. Bling you Uncle Edgar sounds like my Gpa! He wore plaid all the time and even had a flower in his hat! I was looking at old photos tonight! My Uncle Gunn had a rough week and instead of posting an inspirational blog he wanted to send me photos of our family! How awesome when we find treasures like this! Makes my heart feel big Bling! ❤

    • I’m sorry he’s not having a good week. I like him. He’s cute and sends great things. That’s so funny about your Grandpa. LOL Who knew? I LOVE MY CAT. REALLY LOVE IT.

      • OH I know Gpa Art had a bright ORANGE motorcycle helmet he wore to Uncle Gunn to school in. Can you imagine??? Then he always patched all his clothes with plaid. I’ll have to tell you all about him. OH I can a photo UG sent me of Gpa A busting a move. It’s so cute! I’ll do that but first I need to dance Bling! You are so much fun!

      • Looking forward to the photographs. Fun is what life’s all about, once you dig yourself out of the bad spots, you gotta go for the fun, once again, or your wasting you life. Dance and clap your hands…stomp your feet and dig the beat. Oh yeah.

      • Oh yes! I love that dig yourself out of a bad spot. I do that too Bling. I had somehow gotten myself into a little tizzy yesterday. I don’t need anyone’s help to do that. LOL but by the time we danced I was happy and having a ball. 😀 It is fun! I loved then you were typing in all caps and yelling! LOL You crack me up and make me laugh so much! 😀

      • You make me laugh all the time. That’s what friends are for:) Laughing and dancing.

      • Yay life should be about laughing and dancing! You know Bling I think we should dance when we make coffee in the morning! I’m going to dance in the morning and drink coffee and laugh! Perfect way to start the day!

      • It is the perfect way to start the day:) Go for it.

      • Bling I just heard Carole King on PBS singing this. I had to dance

  7. I’m feeling a bit orange. 🙂

  8. What a wonderful story. So happy that even after being disillusioned by the war – that his spirit always held on to hope that one day there would be peace on this earth.

  9. Stupendous Gigi. You are a woman of many talents indeed.

  10. Beautifully related. I have to admire Uncle Edgar. A man true to himself. A rare commodity today.

    • Thank you so very much:) I love finding these old pictures and telling their stories (well, such as they are). It kind of brings them to life again and it’s fun:)

  11. Fascinating character, and so well told too, if only everyone could be like this! 🙂

Leave a comment