Art and the philosophy of life

“Wake up,” said Kitty Kitty, sitting on Persephone’s chest.  “You’re mother’s at the door.  She said she has coffee and donuts for you, and sardines for me.  I love sardines, so get up, or I’ll lay on your face and purr, then I’ll do claws on your forehead.”

“Geez,” she said, pushing him to the side.  “I’ll get up already, back off.”

“Not a morning person, I see.”

“Did you let her in?”

“No.  Not until you say it’s okay, but she could get in without one of us opening the door.  You know that right?  She’s being polite.”

“Fine. Let her in, while I brush my teeth and stuff.”

Kitty Kitty jumped off the bed and ran to the door.  “How ya doin’,” he said, staring at Demeter.”

“How is she?”

“Mad.  She hates all of you and I’d hate you too, if you pushed me down the stairs.  You kept her whole life from her, then you kidnapped her, drugged her, told her all kinds of weird things, after all of that, you expected her to be excited about it?  Grateful even?  She just met you.  You’re basically a stranger to her.”

“Well, when you put it that way,” said Demeter, opening the can of sardines.  “Do you think she’ll come back?”

“No.”

“Any suggestions?”

“Leave her alone and if she asks for help, give it to her with out shoving her down the stairs.”

Demeter nodded.  “Okay.  But remember, I was only gone because of Mercury, you know that.”

“You were gone for her entire life.  She doesn’t know you at all.  She doesn’t care about Mercury.”

“Hey mom, what do you want?” asked Persephone, walking into the kitchen.  “Nice donuts.  Are they drugged?  Poisoned?”

“No.  They’re from the donut place down the block.”

“You still could have put something into them, so no thanks.”

“They’re fine,” she said.  “Look, I’m eating one.”

“What do you want?” she asked again, putting a frozen chocolate chip bagel into the toaster oven.

“The sardines were in a sealed can,” said Kitty Kitty.

“You still shouldn’t have eaten them.  Never eat anything she gives you,” said Persephone.

“Next time,” he said, licking his lips.

“I want to help you learn how to use and control your magic,” said Demeter.  “I’ll teach you anyway you want to learn.”

“Got it.  Thanks for stopping by,” she said.  “Kitty Kitty, please show her to the door and make sure she leaves.”

“You need instruction,” said Demeter.  “Tell her Kitty Kitty.  Tell her how dangerous she is without control.”

“You didn’t care what happened to me before and now…”

“That is not true.  I wanted to stop you from fulfilling the prophecy.  Stop you from spending half of your life underground.”

“Okay.  Good job,” said Persephone.  “I’m above ground.  Now please follow Kitty Kitty to the door.”

“I know where the door is, thank you,” said Demeter, standing up.  “You are as stubborn as your father.”

“I wouldn’t know, since I never met him.”

“Score,” said Kitty Kitty.

They both looked at him, so he licked the sardine plate until it was spotless.

“I’ll tell him to stop by,” said Demeter.  “If, or when, you change your mind about controlling your magic, let me know.”

Sure,” said Persephone.  “Don’t forget to take the donuts.  Maybe the aunties will have the courage to eat them.”

Demeter ignored her and followed the cat to the door.

“Think she’ll come around?” asked Demeter.

“No idea,” he said.  “Are your really sending Zeus to meet her?”

Demeter grinned.  “Sure.  Why not.”

“Oh goodie,” he sighed.

“Goodbye cat.”

“Goodbye Goddess,” he said, closing the door.

Back in the kitchen, Kitty Kitty jumped onto the table.  “How much do you know about Zeus?”

Persephone shrugged.  “Not a lot, just what I read in books.  I design clothes for a living, and mythology does not have as much to do with that as you might think.  Although, I believe I made a four hundred dollar t-shirt with his image on the front.  People loved it.  People with money, I mean.”

“You put your father on a t-shirt?” snickered Kitty Kitty. “Funny.”

“I didn’t know he was my father and who cares anyway?”

“PERSEPHONE.  MY BEAUTIFUL DAUGHTER,” said Zeus.  “HOW ARE YOU?  YOUR MOTHER SAID YOU WANTED TO SEE ME, SO HERE I AM.”

“Gods, aren’t supposed to just pop into someone’s kitchen unannounced,” said Persephone, calmly.  “But seeing as how you’re my cheating, self involved, self indulgent, egomaniacal, selfish, thoughtless, power hungry, greedy father, I probably should have expected a dramatic entrance.”

Zeus threw back his head and laughed.  “A CHIP OFF THE OLD BLOCK,” he said.  “YOUR MOTHR TOLD ME YOU WERE JUST LIKE ME.  NOT ALWAYS A GOOD THING, I ADMIT, BUT TRUTHFULLY, I’M PRETTY HAPPY ABOUT IT.  WHY DID YOU WANT TO SEE ME, DAUGHTER?”

“Oh, I don’t know.  Thought it would be nice to meet my father at least once during my life,” said Persephone.  “Have a donut.  Mom brought them over.”

“AH.  THEN ONE WOULD BE FOOLISH TO INDULGE, DON’T YOU AGREE?” he said, eyeing the pastry.  “YOUR MOTHER CAN BE SLY AND TRICKY.  AT LEAST THAT’S BEEN MY EXPERIENCE.”

“Mine too.  She said I need to learn how to control my magic.”

“SHE’S RIGHT.  YOU CAN CAUSE GREAT HARM IF IT GETS AWAY FROM YOU.  I REMEMBER ONCE…”he said, his eyes glazing over.  “OH, NEVER MIND,” he laughed.  “HOW CAN I HELP YOU?”

“Seriously?”

“THAT’S WHAT FATHERS ARE FOR, IS IT NOT?  TO HELP THEIR CHILDREN.”

“Do you trust mom?”

“HAHAHA!  I DON’T TRUST ANYONE, EVEN MYSELF,” he laughed.  “KITTY KITTY YOU ARE LOOKING GOOD.  “TAKE CARE OF MY DAUGHTER OR I’LL…”

“You will never do anything to this cat, or I’ll rip out your heart and feed it to the dogs in hell.”

Zeus reached out and touched her cheek.  “MY HEART,” he said, softly.  “OUT OF ALL OF MY CHILDREN, YOU ARE THE ONE I LOVE MOST.  THE ONE WHO IS MOST LIKE ME.”

“Is that supposed to be a compliment?”

The cat bit her on the ankle.

“Ouch, that hurt, Kitty Kitty.  And just how many siblings do I have?”

“FAR TOO MANY TO COUNT, I’M AFRAID.  BUT NO WORRIES, YOU ARE MY STAR.”

“What is wrong with you?” she asked.

“I SEE YOU HAVE A BIT OF YOUR MOTHER IN YOU AS WELL,” snickered Zeus, his eyes crinkling with delight.

“Can you teach me anything about my magic?”

“YOU MAY BE DISAPPOINTED IN MY ANSWER.  NO, I CANNOT HELP YOU.  I AM A GOD, NOT A GODDESS.  YOUR MAGIC IS FAR DIFFERENT THAN MINE.  I FEAR I WILL BE OF NO HELP AT ALL.  I AM SORRY MY CHILD.  I WOULD HELP YOU IF I COULD.  MAY I TAKE THE POISON DONUTS WITH ME?”

“The donuts?”

“SUFICE IT TO SAY, THEY WILL BE PUT TO GOOD USE.”

“Sure take them, but they might just be regular donuts.”

“THEN IT WILL BE  GIFT THAT WILL NOT KILL, AM I RIGHT?”

“I guess.”

“ARE WE FINISHED WITH OUR VISIT?” he asked.

“Sure, dad.  Have a nice day.”

“YOU AS WELL CHILD OF MINE.  I WILL LEAVE THESE GOLD COINS FOR YOU TO USE AS YOU WISH.  A TOKEN OF MY LOVE FOR YOU.”

“Thanks, but you don’t have to do that,” said Persephone.

“She’s really grateful,” said Kitty Kitty, digging his claws into her foot.  “You are a generous father and she thanks you.”

“CAN SHE NOT SPEAK FOR HERSELF?” he asked.

“Uh,” said kitty Kitty.  “She’s a little shy, when it comes to gold.”

“WELL, BUY YOURSELF SOMETHING NICE AND A TOY FOR THE CAT,” he said, as he slowly disappeared.

“He took the donuts,” said Kitty Kitty.’

“He’s very loud.”

“He’s a God, what do you expect?”

“Not that,” she said.

“Well, you get what you get in this life,” he sighed, splashing in his water dish.

“You smell like fish,” she said.

“You smell like a human bagel,” he said.

“Fair enough,” smiled Persephone.  “I have to go to work.”

 

 

 

 

Comments on: "Just another day…Chapter 10" (5)

  1. ❤ nice chapter! ❤

  2. Love this dahling! 😊👍

Leave a comment