Art and the philosophy of life

The Conversation…

Cat, Relax, Chill Out, Camacho

“You asked for this,” he said, rolling to his side.  “Summer. You wanted it and now it’s here, broiling us to death.”

“It is hot,” she agreed.

“To put it mildly,” he sighed.

I could get you a wading pool.”

He sat up.  “Do I look like a tiger?  Cats don’t like water, except for TIGERS  and not one of us knows why they like it.  So, you can skip the wading pool.”

“You could stand in it.  It’s not like you would have to swim.”

“No.”

“Fine.”

“You look tired, but in a good mood.”

“I’m staying up with all of you until two or three in the morning, so I’m tired.  But I love being with all of you, so I’m happy.”

He stared at her.  “Humans complicate everything.  You know that, don’t you?”

“I do.”

“Why?”

“A lot of reasons.  Mainly I think everyone is just bored.”

“So they fight and kill each other?  Complain and do everything they can to escape?”

“Pretty much.  Not everyone kills other people but most are trying to escape.”

“Cats are so much better than humans.”

“I agree, but I am not getting tested to see if I have feline markers in my blood.”

“You’re loss,” he said.

“I know I’ve asked you before, but why did you come here.  I mean why did you incarnate?”

“Probably because you need someone to look after you and that would me me.”

“Thank you.”

“You believe me?” he said, eating the last of his treats.

“Sure, why wouldn’t I?”

“Why did you come here?”

“Probably so you would have someone to watch over.”

“I don’t think so.”

“Why not?” she asked.

“I don’t know.  It just seems wrong.”

She nodded.  “The other reason would be that I was insane when I said I would do it.”

“That makes more sense.”

“Agree.”

“What do you know about brine shrimp?”

“Not a single thing,” she said.  “And before you ask, I’m not getting any for you.”

“What if it was for my birthday?”

“Is it your birthday?”

“It could be.”

“You don’t know when your birthday is, do you.”

“I was born in an alley and my mom never told me.  So, no.  Not really.”

“I brought you another book?”

“What about the brine shrimp question?”

“It’s about Lake Michigan.”

“Seriously?  Lake Michigan?”

“Yes.”

“It’s a killer lake.”

“It is.”

“Why would I want to read about a lake that kill those who go into it?”

“Because it’s only a few blocks away and it doesn’t kill that many people.”

“Are there shrimp in the lake?” he asked.

“Not really.”

“The only thing going for it is the huge litter box,” he said.

“You mean the beach?”

“Is that what you call it?”

“Tell me you’re kidding.”

“About what?” he snickered.

“It’s really a book about cats,” she said, pulling it out of her tote bag.

“I am a cat.  I don’t need a book to tell me that I am one.”

“I know that.  But…”

“What if I gave you a book about yourself.”

“Fine.  I’ll take it back,” she sighed, dropping it into the bag.

“I’d like a book on how to raise chickens.”

“No.”

“What are you reading?”

“A book on how women are discriminated against and never allowed to age and how they spend their whole lives trying to be a girl so they aren’t punished for growing up and becoming an old woman.”

“I’d rather read about Lake Michigan.”

“I don’t blame you.”

“Cats don’t have those kinds of problems.  Sure, an older cat might not be able to jump as high as he did when he was younger but no one would know that unless he jumped in front of other cats.  We don’t get wrinkles either.  Another plus about being feline.  Why do you read depressing books?”

“That’s a good question.”

“I mean it’s too late for you.  Look at you.  You’re not a girl, except genetically.  Your girlhood has been gone for a long time, if you ask me”

“I didn’t ask you.”

“I was trying to be helpful,” he said, licking his shoulder.  “How about a book on raising rabbits?”

“No.”

“Are you leaving?”

“Yes,” she said, standing up.  “I’m going to build a cat wall in the living room and dining room.  You know, shelves and tunnels you can climb and…”

“We live outside.  We can climb everything.”

“So you don’t want a climbing wall.”

“Look over there,” he said.

She tuned and saw Timmy, a tiger striped cat, walking along the top of a fence.  He jumped from the fence to the branch of a tree, then onto the porch of an apartment building.”

“You’re right,” she said.  “You guys don’t need a climbing wall.  I didn’t think it through.”

“Duh.”

“I’ll see you tonight,” she said, bending to kiss him all over his face and listen to him purr.  “I have new catnip for everyone.  So take a nice nap and tell Jinx where I put his food.  I love you.”

 

 

 

 

 

Comments on: "The Conversation…" (30)

  1. Oh the wisdom in theses conversations!

  2. I love him too!

    … and smart! I didn’t know tigers went in the water. xo

  3. so what is so wrong with Lake Michigan? Now I‘m intrigued.
    and as always, thoughtful conversation.

    • It’s just very dangerous. Rip tides, undertows. I almost drowned in it, caught in a rip tide, swimming off the Indiana sand dunes. A friend’s brother fell off his boat (there were lots of people with him) and they never found his body. He was an adult. It’s a DANGEROUS lake, not to be taken lightly.

      Dead bodies float up now and then, but that’s true of most big bodies of water. I hung out at the North Avenue rocks and was friends with the life guards who told me horror stories of having to drag the bodies out of the water and they would fall apart. One guy had horrible nightmares. I can still remember one of them. Nightmares for sure.

      I knew I was going to die. I was a teenager and didn’t even know what a rip tide was, so I wore myself out trying to swim to shore. Things changed and suddenly everything was more colorful, I could smell the water and hear the bird, etc., and I knew I was going to die but I didn’t care, because everything was so beautiful and I was so relaxed. Then a gigantic hand pushed me over, got under me, and literally carried me through the water and thew me on the shore. Apparently I wasn’t supposed to die. I should have died a few times in water, but obviously didn’t. Another time I should have been dead for sure, I knew it, but some magic happened and the cars that were aiming directly at me, going about 60 mph, were suddenly on the other side of me. and stopped at a light. LOL That was absolutely impossible. I knew they were going to hit me, I closed my eyes and just knew it was over and then nothing at all. I opened my eyes and not a single car was on the road behind me and it was a BUSY road. The cars that were coming at me, truly were on my other side. I had hit ice on a driveway coming out of a shopping center and slid across 3 lanes of traffic sideways, blocking the street, IN FRONT of oncoming traffic and then they were on the other side. I had two more of those experiences besides those. Someone was taking good care of me, that’s for sure.

      • wow, wow, wow….. I now am pretty sure you ARE a cat, lol.
        Never knew that Lake Michigan is so dangerous. Thank you for enlightening me on this subject. I love water so much I think I‘d done the same thing as you, trying to float/swim to the beach…. I got once into a water ‚hole‘ but not a strong one and I got out. Now that I think about it I can‘t even remember WHERE that was. A lake? The sea? I have the helpful and uncanny capacity to completely forget the truly bad stuff that happened in my life. I lived in so many countries that I can‘t recall where or when that was. I do recall the feeling of finality of my life and even that I wasn‘t sad but sort of accepting the end, and I remember that I was much younger (and stronger). On a rather amusing note my ‚obliterating‘ bad experiences: When I lived in France, we made a will and for that, the date and document of my divorce was needed…. I couldn‘t provide it and had to phone my ex (of then already nearly 20yrs divorced) and ask him to send me proof. Organised as he was and is, he could do that within 20 minutes, as I knew he would….
        Actually, I think you should have a strong faith with everything you encountered. How is that?
        You get the 1st prize for survival! This beats pretty much everything I‘ve ever heard and I‘ve heard and seen (and experienced myself) a lot! Thank you for the tales of your life, very appreciated.

      • I have done some stupid things, like diving off the front of a moving speed boat and landing in SEAWEED that immediately wrapped around me and held me under the water. I heard someone SCREAM inside my head saying DON’T MOVE! so I didn’t and the seaweed untangled and I was able to make it to shore. LOL I was younger and stronger, as you mentioned and never thought anything could ever happen to me. Sadly, I have more stories. But truly, someone, or something is constantly saving my life. Because I should be dead, many times over.

      • well, let me just say: I‘m glad you‘re still with us! 😉

      • Thank you for that. 🙂 Life is weird, no doubt about it.

  4. This just proves, that, animals are, better conversationalists than, any, humans, and, on top of that, they listen to us, give us emotional support, when we most need it, they would, come to, our, rescues.

  5. There are a few house cats who like the water. There was a hilarious montage in IG. Wait, let me see if I can find it.

    https://www.instagram.com/p/C6zYaYtyA5x/

Leave a comment