Art and the philosophy of life

How they met…

“Dance with me,” he said,  holding out his hand.

She took it, stood up, and walked into his arms.  They danced for awhile, then she pulled away and sat down.

“I’ve never danced with a stranger in the shoe department of a store before,” she said, trying on a pair of sandals.

“I knew you’d be brave enough to go for it.”

“That wasn’t an act of bravery, it was an act of being silly.”

“A lot of people wouldn’t have done it, so don’t kid yourself.”

“What’s up with you?” she asked, putting the shoes back into the box.

“I was on the escalator and I saw you.  I had to meet you, so I came back to ask you to dance.  You’re a good dancer, by the way.”

She nodded.  “Where’s your girlfriend?”

“I don’t have one.”

“You mean you don’t have one at the moment.”

“Yes, at the moment.  Where’s your boyfriend?”

“Maybe he’s with your old girlfriend,” she said.

“So, we’re both free, the night is young, and if you’re hungry, I know a nice little place near here that has the best pasta in the city.”

“You’re kind of a pretty boy, so…I don’t think so.”

“You’re a pretty girl, so what?”

“I’ve found that guys who look like you…aren’t to be trusted.”

“Why not?”

“Too easy for you to get women and I don’t play games.”

“Isn’t that a little judgmental?”

“Actually, it’s a lot judgmental, but I don’t care.”

“I like a woman who says what she thinks.  “I’m Eddie Taylor, by the way.”

“Nice to meet you Eddie Taylor,” she said.

“So? Pasta? Maybe a little more dancing?”

“What do you think of these?” she asked, slipping on a pair of four inch, red pumps.

“Seriously?” he laughed.  “How can you walk in those things?”

“Good answer,” she said, taking them off.

“They have really good bread, by the way.  Crusty on the outside, warm and soft on the inside.  It’s just about perfect.”

“You’re a sly one, Mr. Taylor.”

“And, they have the most delicious chocolate cake you’ve ever eaten.”

“And, you play dirty, as well.  Tell me, why did you and your girlfriend break up?”

“She didn’t believe in vampires.”

“And you do,” she said.’

“They’re everywhere,” he said, smiling.

“Then it’s a good thing I have my stakes with me.”

“A woman should always be prepared for anything,” he said.  “It’s a dangerous world.”

“I think I like you, Mr. Taylor,” she said.  “We might just have a lot in common.”

“I don’t doubt it for a second.  Your magic is all around you.”

“Nice of you to notice,” she said, reaching for the amulet in her pocket.  She snapped it, putting a protective shield around herself.  “I’m ready when you are.”

“You aren’t buying any shoes?”

“No, not tonight.  I was hunting for something a little different.”

He started laughing, and said, “I think we’re both in for an interesting evening.”

 

 

 

Comments on: "How they met…" (9)

  1. How charming to dance in a shoe store
    🌟 💃 😊

  2. Fun and interesting!

Leave a comment