Wild Magic…a short story

“Mind if I sit here?” he asked.

She looked up from her book, saw all the empty park benches and said, “Yes, I mind.” Then she went back to reading.

“Why?”

“Sit someplace else.”

“I want to sit here,” he said.

“Fine.  Sit down,” she said, gathering her things and standing up.

“Maybe I should have said that I wanted to sit next to you.”

“If you don’t get away from me I’ll call the police,” she hissed, looking at her phone.

“Call them if you like, but I’m never leaving you.”

She called.  They came and took him away.  Even as they were cuffing him, he kept asking if he could see her again.

She sat down and dialed.  “You HAVE  to do something about this stupid spell.  Guys won’t leave me alone.  I can’t even sit down and read and it’s driving me crazy,” she said, loudly. “Stop LAUGHING.  It’s not funny.  Do it now, or I’ll turn you into a fireplug, since you like dogs so much,” she yelled, throwing her phone into her purse.

A very handsome man walked by without even looking at her.  She watched him walk partway down the path, take a book out of his pocket, and sit down.  He never looked up and acted as if she didn’t exist.  She wondered if her sister had removed the spell that quickly.  She hoped so, but she didn’t think it was possible.  She opened her book but couldn’t concentrate.  For two and a half days, pretty much every man she passed had either stopped, followed her, tried to talk to her, or just stared at her.  Even the police officer, who just left, asked for her number.  Finally, she got up and walked to where the man was sitting.

“Hi,” she said softly.  “Can I talk to you for a moment.”

“Look,” he said, “You really aren’t interested in me.  My brother spelled me and now women want to be around me.  I mean ALL women.  Everyone under the age of ninety.  I just came here for some peace and quiet.  So, if you don’t mind….”

She burst into laughter.

“What’s so funny?” he asked, smiling.

“My sister did the same thing to me.  I came here to see why you were leaving me alone,” she said.  “I thought maybe you were  a FLAT, and unaffected by magic.”

“Siblings can be such a bother, no matter their age,” he said, shaking his head.  “Although,” he grinned, “I did turn his new car into a tricycle yesterday.”

“Oh, that’s bad,” she chuckled.  “I turned my sister’s boyfriend into a pony, but it was only for an hour, so I don’t understand why she’s so freaked out.”

“A pony?” he asked, closing his book.  “You did that?”

“I did,” she sighed.  “She has a right to be angry, they were going to their wedding rehearsal party and well, it became a bit awkward, if you know what I mean.”

“It’s a good thing we only get to play with wild magic three days a year,” he said.

“Can you imagine doing this everyday?  I’ve had twenty-three men arrested for stalking.”

“I’ve outrun so many women,” he snickered.  “I’ve had nine marriage proposals and four women asked me if they could have my children.   And that was just today.  We have,” he said, looking at his watch, “eight more hours until it’s over.”

“My grandmother has a dresser but she won’t tell me the story behind it.  She polishes it a lot.”

He started laughing again.  “Spells can’t last that long.  They break at midnight on the third day.”

“You don’t know my grandmother.”

“Do you want to get coffee?”

“I don’t think that’s a good idea, do you?  The women will jump you and the men would be after me.

“Not if we had it at my place,” he said.  “I mean neither one of us seems to be affected by the magic both of us are carrying, so…”

“That’s a good thing,” she said.  “That’s a very good thing.”

“Some people never find that person,” he said, staring at her.

“Few find that person, actually.”

“A person who can’t manipulate them, spell them, magic them.”

They looked at each other.  “Coffee sounds good,”  she whispered.  “Just give me a second. She closed her eyes, muttered a few words and snapped her fingers.  “Okay, I’m ready.”

“What did you just do?”

“Let’s just say my sister will be entertaining in her pajamas this evening.”

“A stickum spell?”

She nodded.

“Nice,” he said.

“She probably expected it and is wearing something in blue satin.”

“When we were kids, I put my brother on the top of a mountain.  Good thing my mother was there, or he would have frozen to death.  Kids,” he said.

“Wild magic,” she said.

“Wild magic,” he agreed.

 

This entry was posted in Short Stories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

