Edith…Six

“No Love, everyone can’t disappear,” said Lilly, smiling broadly.

“I thought everyone could do that,” said Edith, thoughtfully.

“Can you make others disappear?  Can you make things disappear?”

“I never tried to make anyone else disappear but anything that I have with me vanishes when I do.”

“Try and make me disappear,” said Steven.

“Oh, yes, please make him disappear,” said Lilly, happily, doing a little dance.

“Uh, okay, I guess,” she said, looking at the spot where Steven used to be.

Lilly clapped her hands with delight.  “Don’t bring him back.  Make him wait awhile,” she said, excitedly.

“Funny,” said Steven, his voice seemingly coming out of nowhere.

“This is wonderful!” said Lilly, hugging Edith tightly.

“You can make me visible again, thank you,” sighed Seven.

Edith looked at Lilly, who nodded.

“That’s quite a talent,” said Steven.  “I don’t think we’ll want anyone else to know about that right now, so let’s just keep it to ourselves, shall we?”

“Sure,” said Edith.

“Tell me, Love,” said Lilly.  “Is there anything else you can do that you think everyone else can do but they actually can’t?”

“How would I know that?”

“Hmmm, good point,” she said, tapping her lips with her finger.  “Just tell us more about what you can do in general then.”

“I can jump rope, play hopscotch, ride a bike, write stories that sometimes come true….”

“Your stories sometimes come true?” asked Steven, softly.

“Well, I wrote a story about the bunnies in our yard and when I looked outside they were all wearing bonnets and little dresses.”

Lilly and Steven looked at each other and grinned.  “You can write things into existence?”

“Maybe,” said Edith.  “A little while later their clothes were gone and they just had fur.”

“Buttercup would be so proud,” sighed Lilly.

“Who’s Buttercup?” asked Edith, frowning.

“Your mother, Love.  We called her that because she was always so sunny and bright.”

“When can I meet her?”

Steven smiled, a sad smile, and said, “I’m not sure, Edith.  We don’t know when she’ll come back.”

“Why did she go away?” asked Edith.  “Can’t you just call and tell her that I’m here?  Should I try and write her home?”

“Do you think you could do that?” asked Lilly.  “Write her home, I mean?”

“I could try.”

“How does that work, Edith?” asked Steven.

She shrugged.  “I don’t know, I just write stuff down and sometimes it comes true and sometimes it doesn’t.  Maybe it depends on how hard I concentrate.  Or, maybe it depends on what’s supposed to come true and what’s not.”

“To answer your question,” said Lilly, “your mother wasn’t happy after she switched you with the real Edith.  Your father was furious.  He didn’t want to stay in Fairy any longer, because of what we do with our children.  She loved him, so she had to choose between Fairy and the Human world.”

“But maybe she’ll come back to see me?”

“Maybe she will,” whispered Steven.  “Maybe she will.”

“Can I play with other fairies?  I’d like to make some friends, if that’s okay.

“The first thing you have to do is be introduced to the Court,” said Steven.  “That will happen the day after tomorrow.  You’ll need a dress.”

“A dress?”

“Yes, my Love,   You’ll need a beautiful dress and I will tell you the rules of the Court, so that when you meet the Queen and King, you don’t make any mistakes.”

“What kind of mistakes.  If I make a mistake what will happen to me?”

“We can talk about that latter,” said Lilly, her face rather pale.  “No need to worry about that now.”

“I’ll see you then,” said Steven, staring at Lilly. “Be careful.”

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Edith…Six

  1. Resa says:

    I can hardly wait to hear what the dress for court will look like! I know it’s going to be fantasytic!

  2. Wonderful 😀 These are such great characters 😀 ❤

Leave a Reply

