Edith…Five

“There must be something,” mumbled Lilly, pacing back and forth.

“We’ve been looking for hours,” sighed Edith, “and there’s nothing.  I’m sorry to be such a huge disappointment.  Maybe I should go back and live with the humans.”

“We will find your special talent, I’m sure of it,” said Lilly, “and you will not be going back to live with people who never allowed you to ride a horse.  But, I suppose you’re right, I should contact Steven.”

“You called?” he asked, smiling at Lilly.

“We can’t find my magick,” said Edith, darkly.  “Lilly has tried everything but she doesn’t know anything about human parents, so we thought perhaps you could help me.”

“Ah, I see.  Yes, she knows nothing about being raised by non magical beings.  She doesn’t understand the dismal life they lead, what they do to the children in their care.”

“That’s all well and good,” said Edith, “but can you tell if I have any magick?”

“I’ll do my best,” he said, straightening his gold tunic.  “What have you tried so far?”

Edith and Lilly explained what they had been doing for the last few hours and when they were finished, Steven said, “She can’t fly?”

Lilly shook her head and Edith sighed loudly.

“So, what to do,” he grumbled.  “What to do.”

“Tell me, Edith, what did you like to do when you were living with the humans?”

“Hide.  I liked to hide in my room, or outside in the park.”

“Anything else?  Did you read, draw…”

“I wrote stories,” she said, smiling.

“What did you write about?”

“The wolves mostly but I wrote about the sky people as well.  And kites, clouds, running away, living in a place where it was always sunny and warm, where I could go swimming and have friends, I guess.”

“Tell me about the sky people,” he asked.  “What did they look like?”

“Um, well, it’s hard to say but they looked like people made out of clouds.  Not thick clouds, thin ones.  They waved at me.  They were nice.”

“Why do you think you could see them?”

Edith made a face and shrugged.  “No idea, they were just there sometimes.

“Steven and Lilly looked at each other and shook their heads.  “I don’t know what to do with that,” he said.

“Neither do I,” agreed Lilly.

“Anything else you can think of?”

“Just regular stuff, I can run fast, climb trees, disappear, write stories….”

“Wait…disappear?  You can make yourself disappear?”

“Sure, can’t you?”

This entry was posted in Edith and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Edith…Five

  1. Resa says:

    Ah ha! I can’t seem to disappear, either.
    Although, about a week ago, I was holding a glass. It jumped right out of my hand, and threw itself onto the floor. Okay, enough of my nonsense. I love the story, will be quiet and read!

Leave a Reply

