Edith…Two

“How do you like your room?” asked Lilly. “And breakfast is ready.”

“I like it very much,” said Edith, smiling.  I like the beds for the wolves, all over the floor.  Three of them slept in here last night.”

“They like to do that now and then.”

“And this color blue is my favorite.” said Edith, straightening her sheets.

“That’s why your mother named you Bluebell.  She loved that color as well.”

“You know my real mother?  And my name’s isn’t Edith?”

“Sure I know your mother and your real name is Bluebell, because aside from being her favorite color, they were her favorite flowers, as well.  Your real name is also Edith. You can use both of them, or you can pick one and stick with it.  That’s up to you.”

“Edith was the name of my great, great, great grandmother on my father’s side. Well, he wasn’t really my father, but you know what I mean.  I always hoped that I didn’t belong where I was,” she said dreamingly.  “I never actually liked those people.  They sure didn’t like me.  I’m the reason they never had more children.”

Lilly, started laughing.  “I suppose you’re right,” she snarfed.  “They must have been horrified by some of the things you did and said.”

Edith giggled.  “You should have seen them.  My father’s face was so red I thought he  was going to explode.  ‘There are no such things as sky people and rabbits don’t talk, you nasty girl,'” she said in, a poor imitation of her father’s voice.  “‘Why do you always have to lie?’  My mother stayed in her room or worked all the time.  They never even tried to hear what the rabbits in the yard had to say.”

“Yes, well, non magical people don’t understand things like talking rabbits.”

“I know that.  They don’t understand a lot of things.”

“Let’s eat,” said Lilly, clapping her hands.  “We have a full day ahead of us.”

Once in the warm kitchen Edith climbed on to the high stool and looked at the chocolate chip pancakes.  “I LOVE chocolate chip pancakes but why are their flowers on the side?”

“Just try them.  You’ll love them, I guarantee it.”

“Eat the flowers?”

“Of course.”

“I don’t know,” said Edith, pushing at the violets with her fork.  “I’ve never eaten flowers before.”

“Then today is the perfect time to start.”

“Why did my mother give me to those people and what happened to the girl they took?”

“Those are big questions,” said Lilly, pouring syrup all over her food.

“They’re big to me, that’s for sure.”

“It’s a common custom for fairies to swap their children with the babies of humans.  And their little girl, who is obviously your age now, lived in fairy up until a few months ago.”

“Where is she now?”

Lilly fussed around the kitchen, putting cookies on a plate and opening a new bottle of orange juice. She fed some of the wolves who stopped by and poured tea for both of them.

“Lilly?  Where is the real Edith?”

“You have to understand how hard it is for human children to live surrounded by magick, when they have none.  And, truthfully, fairies, like humans, aren’t always nice.”

Edith put down her fork.  “What’s that supposed to mean?”

“It means that she ran away, just as you did.  All of them have a difficult time.”

 

“All?”

“Well, she wasn’t the only one, was she,” said Edith.

“So fairies can be mean?”

“Everyone can be mean, child.”

“I’m not mean.”

“I hope you stay that way,” said Lilly, trying to smile.

“Do you know where she is?”

“I imagine that she and Derek, the human boy she ran away with, are on their way to New York, Chicago or Los Angeles.  They always run to big cities because they feel the pull of magick.  They can’t help it.  They’ve lived around it all of their lives and big cities are where fairies live when they play in the human world.  No one notices them there and strange things are overlooked or applauded, so…that’s where everyone goes.  We can’t survive in small towns where everyone knows and watches everyone else.  There are no fairies or magick there.”

“That makes sense, I guess.”

“It’s hard to live in a place where you don’t belong, as you well know.”

“Where’s my mother? And please, don’t tell me that I’m some kind of princess, because I’ve always hated those stupid stories.”

“You aren’t a princess.  Promise.”

“What am I, then?”

“Well, your mother was a….”

“Was?  Is she dead?  I hate those stories as well, the ones where the girl’s mother is always dead.”

“Not exactly.”

“You’re either dead or you’re not dead,” said Edith, impatiently.  “Is she in a coma?”

“No, not really.”

“Are you going to tell me?   Because if you don’t tell me, I’ll find out some other way.”

“She’s living among the humans.”

“Why?”

“Guess.”

“She fell in love?”

“She did.”

“Where is she?”

“Chicago.”

“Is she with my father?”

“She is, and that makes you a halfling, my sweet girl.  Half fairy, half human.”

“Wow, this keeps getting more complicated all the time, doesn’t it.  I suppose that makes me an outsider and the fairies won’t like me, right?”

“Only the pure bloods, who think they are better than everyone else.  They refuse to believe that thee is no ‘pure’ anything.  All of us, human and fairy alike have a little of each other in their blood.”

“This is starting to sound like Harry Potter,” said Edith, shaking her head.

“Oh, I love those movies.  I have the CDs, if you’d like to watch them sometime.”

“You have CDs?”

“Why wouldn’t I have CDs?”

“I just thought…”

“You just thought we were like the fairies in books and film, right?”

“Yes, since those were the only fairies I ever saw.”

“Well, we’re not like that, but you’ll find out soon enough.”

 

“How do you know my mother?”

“She’s my daughter.”

“You’re…”

“Yes, I’m your grandmother.”

“You’re too young to be a grandmother,” said Edith, knowingly.  “You’re kidding me.”

“That’s a perk that comes with being a fairy.  We don’t age like humans do.”

Two wolves stood up and went to the door.

“Looks as if we’re having company,” whispered Lilly.

This entry was posted in Edith and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Edith…Two

  1. Resa says:

    Yay! A new story, and I love it so far.

Leave a Reply

