Trees…a poem

do
trees
feel
pain
do
they
go
into
shock
do
their
immune
systems
rush
into
action
and
immediately
begin
to
heal
their
wounds
do
they
weep
in
a
pitch
that
no
one
can
hear

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Trees…a poem

  1. They probably do. Only we are too deaf to hear. Otherwise we might be more thoughtful.

  2. The creak in the wind, sigh in the rain. The hold the earth.

  3. Yes, I think so. And flowers too.

  4. Resa says:

    I was very concerned about what all plants feel. I had a bit of a break down, and starved myself to about 90 pounds.when I was around 30.
    Knowing I had to eat, I would stand in the garden and eat them right off the vine or out of the ground, so as to minimize their torture. When winter came, I would only eat raw.
    That went on for a year.
    Life is a strange plan. It seems no matter where I look, something dies for another thing to live.
    Even stars die, I suppose to feed the universe.
    I always talk to plants. They love it!

    • I’m sorry you had to go through that but I understand your feelings. It’s a killing planet. As you said, we are forced to eat but everything we eat takes away the life of something else. I don’t have any answers. I just watched a video that said plants don’t have an actual nervous system ora brain but they have things that are just like those things. This place is all about death. I wish I knew what to do about the food thing. Fruit is okay because if falls off the trees so we don’t have to kill anything to get it but we can’t live on fruit. We do the best we can. Salad is good because it would die in the ground, vegetables rot eventually, so they die no matter what, just like everything else. Our star, the sun will die, turn into a red giant and boil us, then turn into a white dwarf. Black holes eat everything that comes near their even horizon. And on and on it goes.We do what we can.

      • Resa says:

        Yes, we do the best we can!
        LOL, just to add some levity to such seriousness, I’m sick and tired of black holes eating my socks!!! 😀

  5. Something eats them. Black holes is as good a possibility as anything else. I’m missing a white one from yesterday’s laundry. :0

  6. dawnwairimu says:

    Interesting question and perspective. Really makes me think.

  7. Brilliant poem. Loved it.

Leave a Reply

