Addict…poem

I
am
addicted
to
books
and
if
they
had
meetings
for
book
junkies
I
would
go
to
all
of
them
just
to
see
what
everyone
else
was
reading

This entry was posted in Books, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Addict…poem

  1. i understand that very well. 🙂
    at the moment i am reading “letters to a young poet” by rilke.

  2. Coyote from Orion says:

    I was like that before I went to school. It took dropping out to keep it alive. Then after being sober more than a decade in AA I looked around and realized how many nutcase female primary school teachers were there and ANGRY and could not get sober. I stopped feeling like I was such a bad boy for standing up for my mates including the tomboy all the bitches picked on. I understood what I had been ‘taught’ by and victimized by. I am still sober though I go to many unnecessary funerals for those who aren’t. I am not ashamed to tackle an opponent still in a game of footy. Getting on 2 decades and people who meet me think I am 26. And I was on deaths door when I stopped. Not demanding more money putting more bricks in potentially dangerous wall ready to collapse

    • I’m happy to know you’re still doing well. It’s sad how many die from their inability to stop. School is a dangerous and mind numbing, brainwashing place that works to maintain the status quo.

      • Coyote from Orion says:

        Exposing every weakness however carefully hidden by the kid.

      • I’m reading, A PARIS ALL YOUR OWN, by Eleanor Brown (not very good), LEE MILLER, a life, by Carolyn Burke (she’s an interesting woman), and Golden Moments of Paris, by John Baxter, which is also interesting. 🙂 Thank you for asking.

  3. So, so true. If I see someone reading, on a bus, in a cafe, I can’t stop trying to sneakily see what they’re reading, I have to know.

  4. Resa says:

    Hahaha! LOL, The 12 Steps to more books, more reading, more sanity, more everything!

  5. If the meetings were in a bookstore then more of the addicts would show up, right? How could they not?

Leave a Reply

