A Chance Encounter…a very short story

“Please, leave me alone,” she sighed.

“Why?” he asked.

“Can’t you see that I’m busy?”

“Sure I can, but so what?”

“Ah,” she said.  “You must have siblings, right?”

“I do. How did you know?”

“People who have sibs are used to interrupting each other.  I’m and Only and I like to be by myself, so go away.”

“Why do you like to be by yourself?”

“Well, first of all most people are boring and second, I’m used to being alone and I want to focus on what I’m doing..”

“That’s actually three things and I’m not boring in the least.  I’m new here, so let’s do something.   You can do whatever you’re doing later.”

“I want to do what I’m doing now.”

“It doesn’t look as if what you’re doing is important.”

“Not to you, maybe.  And why do you want to do something with me anyway?”

“I don’t know.  You look okay and I thought we could build a spaceship.”

“Build a space ship?” she asked, her eyes wide with excitement.  “Why didn’t you say that in the beginning?”

“I have stuff at my house, if you want to come over.”

“Let’s go,” she said, shoving her book and art supplies into her bag.

“I guess I’m not that boring after all,” he said.

“Definitely not and I’m sorry that I assumed that you were,” she said, apologetically. “That was rude.  Please forgive me.”

“You’re forgiven,” he said.

“Where are we going to go, once it’s built?”

“Mars, or maybe Pluto, maybe.”

“Pluto has been demoted, and Mars is a lot closer, so we should probably go there.  We’ll need to bring oxygen and food.”

“I think we should make a list of what we want to take with but concentrate on building the ship first, don’t you agree?”

“My name is Daisy,” she said nodding.  “And yes, I agree.”

“I’m Bobby.”

“I think we’re going to be good friends, Bobby.”

“Me too,” he said.  “Do you like cats?”

“I think I we’re going to be best friends,” she laughed.

“That’s good because we’ll be in the space ship for a really long time,” he said smiling.

 

This entry was posted in Short Stories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

