Annie, Short story…23

“Annie,” said Lucifer, carefully.  “You do know what an archangel is, don’t you?”

“Sure, but I don’t care.  And you can’t do it, Lucifer.  My mom said that it has to be me.”

“But he’s powerful, Annie.  Almost as powerful as I am.”

“I’m powerful too.”

“You’re just a girl.”

“And?”

“I’m afraid for you.  You don’t have any experience…”

“Look,” she said, grabbing him by the shirt.   She pulled him forward and stared into his eyes, their noses almost touching.  “I have a to do this and you have to stay out of it.  Those are my instructions.  If you interfere you will get us both killed.”

Lucifer pulled her hands off of his shirt.  “Don’t ever do that again.”

“Don’t make me,” she said.

“Do you have a plan?”

“My mom said that I’ll know what to do when I see him, so I guess that’s my plan.  To see him.”

“How are you going to do that?”

“I’m going to where he lives.”

“How will you get there?”

Annie shrugged.  “I just will.  Things are already falling into place.”

“What does that mean?”

“It means that we don’t have to worry about anything.”

“Can I at least come with you?”

“No.  I have to go alone or it won’t work.”

“What won’t work?”

“I won’t be able to kill him,” sighed Annie.  “Look, I know you don’t like this but parents have to let their children go.  I’m big now and mom said that you would understand, after the kind of childhood you had.”

Lucifer looked away. “She always did know the right thing to say.”

“I didn’t know her.  Maybe, when I get back, you can tell me about her.”

Lucifer nodded.  “I’d like that.”

“Me too,” said Annie, putting her arms around his neck.  “I love you but you have to let me do this.”

“Okay,” he said.  “When you return, I will tell you about your mother and we can celebrate.”

“I’d like that.”

“I love you.”

“I know.  Please don’t worry,” said Annie.  “I have to go.”

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Annie, Short Stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

