Annie…Short story…12

“I’ve been living with humans far too long,” said Lucifer.  “I’m getting soft.”

“What does that mean?” asked Annie.

“It means that the other side doesn’t fear me as much as they should.”

“Can you fix that?” she asked.

Lucifer smiled.  “Yes, Annie.  I can.”

“You’re going away, aren’t you,” she said, matter-of-factly.

“For a few days.  You two should be okay but I’ll have Griffon look in on you.”

“Dad, we don’t need a babysitter.”

“I know but I’ll need to concentrate when I’m gone and I won’t be able to do that if I’m worried about you two.”

“I want to come with you.  You know I can fight.  I’m ready, dad.”

“I know you’re ready but you need to stay with Annie.”

“I can take care of myself,” said Annie, pointedly.

“That’s what I’m afraid of,” he laughed.

“What’s that supposed to mean?” she asked, surprise on her face.

“Are you going to fight?” asked Clark.

“I’ll try talking but you know that never works, so yes, I’ll probably have to fight.”

“Will there be war?”

“If there is, I won’t be the one who starts it.”

“Will it be fought here?” asked Annie.

“It’s always fought here,” said Lucifer.  “The other side hates humans.”

“The cats will be ready,” she said.

The Hellhounds growled.

“The dogs too,” she added quickly.

Lucifer stared at the dogs eyes.  “You are to guard them with your lives.  No one touches them.  You have my permission to do whatever’s necessary to keep them safe.”  The dogs nodded and pushed at Lucifer’s hands.  He scratched their ears and patted their sides.  “Good puppies,” he said, smiling at them.

“When are you leaving? asked Clark.

“Right now,” he said.   “I’ll be back as soon as possible.  Please don’t go outside without Griffon.  When I get back we will set new rules, so that you can have more freedom.  Deal?”

“Deal,” they said at the same time. And then he was gone.

“So, you can fight?” asked Annie.

“”Of course I can fight.  I’ll be working with my father soon.”

“I didn’t know.”

“Now you do,” said Clark.

“You seem so sweet.”

“I am sweet,” he laughed.  “That doesn’t mean I can’t fight.”

“You’re right, I’m sorry.  I’ve never see you fight anyone.”

“I’ve had lessons since I could stand up.  And you don’t have to be sorry.  I know what you mean.”

“Can you teach me to fight?”

“I can but you can make people disappear..”

“Can’t everyone do that?”

“I don’t know anyone who can do that, other than you.”

“I didn’t know that either.”

“Well, now you do.”

“Why does your dad want to take care of the humans anyway?  I mean I can understand taking care of the animals and the planet but humans are a terrible species.”

“He believes they can be better.”

“I think he might be wrong,” said Annie.

Clark nodded.  “I think he might be wrong too but he believes that if there’s no religion and the angels stop playing with the minds of humans, they might become peaceful.”

“He has his work cut out for him.”

“He’s a dreamer.”

“He’s not going alone, is he?”

“No.  He’ll take his generals and a team of warriors.”

“Has he done this before?”

“Yes.”

“He won’t get hurt, will he?” asked Annie, nervously.  “My mom was killed in the last Angel War, right after I was born.”

“I’m really sorry about that Annie but you don’t have to be afraid for my father.  He’ll be fine.”

“Hey,” said Griffon, appearing in front of them.  “What’s up?”

“The ozone layer,”  said Annie.

Griffon barked out a laugh.  “Right on, kid.”

“I assume this is Griffon,” said Annie, turning to face Clark.

“Yes.  He’s my dad’s younger brother.”

“Hey, Clark.  You got a lot bigger.  And I’m digging the orange wings, tiny sister.”

“I am not tiny.  I’m almost the same size as Clark.”

“Gotcha.  Sorry.  Didn’t mean to harsh your buzz, man.”

“Why is he talking like that?”

“He spent a lot of time here in the sixties.”

“Oh,” said Annie, turning to Griffon.  “Hey, like peace out, man,” she said, holding her finger in a peace sign.

“Right on, baby angel.”

“Really?” said Clark, staring her.  “You too?”

Annie shrugged.  “Like, why not?”

“So, your old man is hitting the white wings, right?”

“He is,” sighed Clark.  “Why didn’t you go with him?”

“Like, I’m way too mellow, man.  Like I just want to chill.  Like, I’m not into to all that feather pulling stuff, if you get my drift.”

“Cluck,”

“Dude, there’s a chicken in the house!”

“Griffon,” said Clark sternly, “either speak correctly, or I’m going to lock myself in my room and never come out when you’re here.”

“Chill out man.  Like, what’s your damage?”

“That’s it,” said Clark, starting to walk away.

“Fine,” said Griffon.  “I should have known you whouldn’t be any fun.”

“Well, you do sound kind of ridiculous,” said Annie.  “The sixties are over, dude, catch up.”

“So you’re turning against me too, tiny angel?”

“No one is turning against you.  We just can’t understand what you’re saying when you do your hippy thing.”

“Okay.  I’ll rein it in.”

“Thank you,” said Annie.

“Now tell me all about this beautiful hen,” he said, staring at the chicken.

Thunder cracked through the sky and clouds formed a black barrier over the earth.

“Looks like my brother is having fun.”

“War is hell,” said Annie.  “At least that’s what it said on the poster in the record store.”

Griffon laughed again.  “Tiny angel.  You’re like totally awesome.”

“Thank you, now talk like a normal person and tell me what’s going on in the sky.”

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Annie, Short Stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

