Annie…Short story…10

“The chicken was a very polite,” said Annie.

“Definitely,” agreed Clark.  “Maybe she’ll stop by again.”

“I hope so.”

“How do you feel?”

“I told you, I’m fine.  You don’t have to keep asking me all the time.”

“Sorry,” said Clark.  “I worry about you.”

“Thank you but there’s no need.”

“Do you think you and I will get together and have little angels?”

“WHAT?” gasped Annie.

“Just wanted to see if you were paying attention.”

“Us?”

“Hasn’t that ever occurred to you?”  We going to be eighteen in a few weeks.  We make a great couple and we know all there is to know about each other.”

“Do you love me?”

“Of course.”

“No, I mean LOVE me.  Not love me like a sister but love me like you couldn’t live without me and you want to be with me forever.”

“Uh,” said Clark.

“Yeah, me too, although our kids would be adorable,” she laughed.

“Definitely,” he agreed.  “So, that’s out of the way then, right?”

“Absolutely,” she said immediately.

“I always wondered, you know.”

“Not gonna happen.  We’re siblings,” said Annie.  “Just siblings.”

He started laughing.  “So do you love anyone?”

“Who could I possibly love?  I never see anyone but you, Lucifer, the puppies, and the cats.  Oh, and now the chicken.”

“I know.  How are we supposed to meet anyone if we never go anywhere?”

“I’m not sure but we’re getting older.”

“What are you two talking about?” asked Lucifer, coming out of his study.”

“Well,” said Annie, “we decided that we’re siblings, so we aren’t going to hook up and have baby angels but we don’t know how to find anyone to love since we never go anywhere.”

Lucifer coughed for a full minute, before he got control of himself.  “Love?  Babies?”

“Dad, we aren’t little kids anymore.  We’re going to be eighteen years old.  We need to go OUT more.”

“I…I guess…I just didn’t think…”

“What?  They we would ever grow up?” asked Clark, in amazement.

“Yes.  I think that’s exactly what I thought.”

“Well, I mean we ARE going out.”

“You’ve been going out alone?” said Lucifer, horrified.  “There are bad things out there.”

“We usually go out together but Dad, even   can handle it.  We’re angels, remember?”

“Being parent is so…”

“Hard?” asked Annie.

“No,” said Lucifer.  “Terrifying.”

“The cats are always with us and so are the dogs, so you don’t have to worry.  We’ve been going to the park and things for a long time now, and Annie’s always out taking care of cats.”

“I should have known.”

“…nothing’s happened to us,” finished Annie.  “And I’ve been meaning to ask you.  Just how well did you know my mom?”

“Uh, quite well,” he muttered.”

“I thought you were going to say that.”

“Look, it was a long time ago and …”

“You don’t have to explain,” said Annie. “I’m glad she had you to love.”

Lucifer sighed.  “I loved her very much.”

“Maybe you’re my real father, then?”

Lucifer stared at her.”

“Is that why you don’t go out very often?”

“Partly.”

“What’s the other part?” asked Clark.

“I’m busy and human women are…”

“Are what?” asked Annie.

“Different than we are,” he said.  “And why am I talking to you two about this,” he said, running his fingers through his thick, spiked, black hair.”

“Can we check and see if I’m yours.  I would like it if you were my real father, you know.”

“I’ll see what I can do.”

“That means you were having sex with my mom while my dad was in the picture.”

“None of us were exclusive, Annie.  You know how angels are.”

“Annie and I want to get matching tattoos for our birthdays,” said Clark.  “Magical ones.  So, please call The Artist and make an appointment for us.”

“What is GOING on with you two today?” said Lucifer, getting to his feet.  “One day your ten years old and now you’re talking about sex and babies and tattoos!”

“We just started talking and one thing led to another and we are letting you know that things have to change,” said Annie, “because we’re grown-ups now.”

Lucifer fell back into a chair.  “Almost grown ups.”

“Close enough,” laughed Clark.

“I’ll make the appointments but I’m going with you.”

“We want you to come with us,” said Annie. “At least the first time.”

Lucifer growled enough to scare the dogs.

***

Gabriel was trying to remember the words to all the show tunes he ever heard but he just kept humming Singing in the Rain in a continuous loop.  Every time he sang the words, it rained all on him.  “I hate it here,” he said to himself, since there was no one else to actually talk to.  “Just hate it but when I get out I’m pulling those orange feathers out.   One…by one, and I’m going to take my time and make her pay.  One by one.”

“You won’t be doing any such thing,”  purred a husky voice.

“Oh, yes I WILL!  ONE BY ONE,” he screamed.

That’s when a lightening bolt pierced Gabriel’s heart and set him on fire.  He burned for awhile and once he was reduced to ash (it was a very hot fire), a large black cat meowed and scratched at the spot where Gabriel had been standing, just to make sure that he was completely gone.

“No one messes with the Cat Guardian.” whispered the voice.  “No one.”  There was a sudden yowling from several thousand cats, then all was quiet.  Well, quiet except for the screaming of others beings who were still trapped there, that is.  Since the cats’ didn’t know anything about the other prisoners they just went on their way, purring and swishing their tails back and forth.  If anyone had been listened carefully they would have heard the cats chanting…?Annie, Annie, Annie,” as they disappeared.

***

“Gabriel’s dead,” said Lucifer, sitting straight up in his chair..

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Annie…Short story…10

  1. Wow…Gabriel’s dead. I want to know if Lucifer is the father…can you do that soon? 🙂

  2. Resa says:

    I am sooo enjoying this tale!
    Found a quaint used bookshop a few days ago. I thought of you and bought a book… “Charles Bukowski on Cats”. I read one poem or tail (hehe) every morning.

  3. Resa says:

    “the cat is the beautiful devil” – C.B.

Leave a Reply

