Annie…5

“You knew my mom?”

“I did.  She was brave, outspoken, fearless, intelligent and beautiful.  Se was like a little sister to me.  You look just like her.”

“Did you know my father?”

“Yes.”

“Why didn’t you like him?”

“He took advantage of your mother’s good nature.  But she loved you more than anything.  You were all she ever talked about.”

“Annie’s the new Cat Guardian Angel,” said Clark, taking another bite of cake.

“Really?   Well, I don’t know how you managed that…but congratulations.”

“Thank you. I managed it because they said I’m difficult,” said Annie, honestly.   “Is Clark going to work with you when he gets a little older?”

“Maybe.  That’s up to him.”

Annie shrugged.  “I’m just taking care of cats.  I don’t really like people very much.”

“I can understand that,” said Lucifer, nodding.  “They seem to have everything backward.”

“Why don’t wings come in orange?”  she asked, frowning.

Lucifer coughed to cover the laugh that was caught in his throat and said, “I have absolutely no idea.”

“With all the colors there are, you would think we could have more than black and white.”

“I agree,” said Clark.  “Maybe we can dye your wings orange.”

“That’s a great idea,” she said, excitedly.

“Where are you staying, Annie?” asked Lucifer.

“Uh, I just got here, so I’m not sure.  Maybe in the park.”

“They sent you here without accommodations?”

“I guess so.”

“Well, you can stay with us until you get settled.  We have two extra bedrooms and you can have your pick.”

“Thank you, but I don’t want to be a bother.”

“No, I want you to stay,” said Clark, quickly.  “You won’t be a bother at all.”

“Then it’s settled,” said Lucifer.  “It’s getting late and I have work to do, so I’m going into my study….”

“Can I see a Hellhound?”

“I don’t see why not,” said Lucifer, his bright blue eyes shifting to Clark.  “You told her about the dog?”

Clark nodded.  “She likes animals.”

Annie heard a rumbling sound so deep it rattled the table.”

“This is Butch,” said Lucifer.  “He’s ver nice and extremely well-behaved, aren’t you Butch,” he muttered, scratching the dogs ears.

“He’s taller than I am,” said Annie.

“It’s a large breed.”

“Are they magic.”

“Certainly.”

“Can I pet him?”

“Of course.”

Annie got off of her chair and walked to the gigantic black dog.  “Hi,” she said, holding out her hand.  The dog started whimpering and pawing at the ground.

“He wants you to pet him,” said Clark.  “He’s a big baby.”

Annie reached up and rubbed the dog’s neck and the whimpering stopped.

“You’re a very nice dog,” she said, kissing him on his shoulder.  “I can understand why people would be afraid of you though.  You’re pretty tall.”

Lucy walked under Butch and sat down.  Butch looked at the puppy then licked her so hard she shot across the room.

“I guess they’re pretty strong too,” said Annie.

“Very strong,” said Lucifer.  “But it’s time for him to go home, so say goodbye until next time.

Annie hugged the dog the best she could. “He has two hearts,” se said, listening to the double heartbeat.

“He does indeed,” smiled Lucifer.  “He’s a warrior and in battle, if he is wounded, he can keep going because of those hearts.”

“Does he fight much?”

“More often than you’d think.”

Annie pressed her face against the dog and whispered, “I hope you don’t get hurt, Butch,” and the dog leaned into her.

“I think he’ll guard you very well Annie.  You won’t always see him but he will be by your side.  He’ll keep you safe.”

“Thank you,” she said to the huge dog.  “I’ll take care of you too,” and with that the dog simply disappeared.

“Please eat something other than cake,” said Lucifer.  “And if you two dye your wings please clean up the mess when you’re finished.”

“We will dad,” said Clark.  Then he turned to Annie and asked if she wanted more cake, which, of course, she most certainly did.

And that’s how Annie came to live with the Lucifer family and that’s how she got her very own Hellhound.  The only thing still missing in her life was a cat but all in all, it wasn’t a pretty good first day on earth.

 

This entry was posted in Annie, Short Stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Annie…5

  1. a pretty good first day indeed! A boy, a puppy, chocolate cake, a place to stay and her very own hellhound!

  2. Resa says:

    Wonderful story! I’m hoping a cat comes into it. After all, she is a Cat Guardian Angel.
    What about ginger wings? Like Ginger Tabbies?

  3. Have to wait until tomorrow:) I’m so glad you like it…thank you…as always.

Leave a Reply

