Annie…4

“This is the best cake I ever ate,” mumbled Annie.  “Thank you for letting me eat as much as I like.  There are so many rules and commandments where I come from that there’s no fun in being alive.”

“That’s why my dad left.”

“What does he do everyday?” asked Annie, cutting another slab of cake and flipping it onto her plate.

“He’s an inspirational speaker.”

“What does that mean?”

“He tells people how to break free from the things  that make them unhappy and the shows them a new way to live so they can be joyful.”

“Wow, that sounds important.”

“It is,” said Clark, getting another cake out of the box.

“So your dad is Lucifer?”

“Yes, he is, but everyone calls him Lou.  He should be here soon, if you’d like to meet him.”

“Sure,” said Annie.  “Who’s your mom?”

“I think she was an angel from your neighborhood.  Her wings were white.”

“Were?  What are they now?”

Clark got up and pulled another carton of milk out of the refrigerator.  “More?”

“Yes, please,” said Annie, holding out her glass.  “Milk always tastes better with cake.”

“Or the other way around,” he laughed.

“Or the other way around,” said Annie, grinning. “My father was an angel and so was my mother but I never met them.”

“Why not?”

Annie shrugged.  “I think they were killed in one of the angel wars.”

“I’m sorry, Annie.  Really sorry.”

“Do you have any siblings?”

“Probably a lot,” laughed Clark, “but I’m the only one I know of.”

“Same with me,” sighed Annie.  “I’d like to know though, wouldn’t you?”

“Not really.”

“Maybe you’re right.”

Just then Lucifer appeared in the kitchen. Lucy skidded across the floor and ran in circles barking happily.  Lucifer took one look at Annie and started to laugh.  “You’re just like your mother,” he chuckled.  “She would be so proud of you.”

“You have a really nice family,” Annie whispered to Clark.  “All that’s missing is a cat.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Annie…4

  1. 🙂 I have no clue as to what the story is about.

Leave a Reply

