Annie…a short story

“I don’t WANT to be a guardian angel,” she said, stamping her foot.

“Your test scores show that’s what you are best suited to be,” sighed the angel.

“Test scores don’t MEAN anything,” she said, folding her arms across her small chest.  “I won’t do it and you can’t make me.”

“Of course I can make you and why do you always have to make things so difficult?  Being a guardian angel is a wonderful job.”

“Says you.  I don’t even LIKE people,” she hissed, tightening up her lips.

“What would you rather do?” asked the angel, tiredly.

“Something with cats.”

Something with cats.”

“Yes, I want to be a guardian cat angel.”

The angel rubbed his yes and then clasped his hands behind his back.  “I never know what to do with you, Annie.”

“Don’t feel bad, no one else knows what to do with me either.  It’s just that I don’t like rules and I don’t want to be told what to do. Why can’t you just ASK me what I want.”

“I didn’t ask you because I knew you would say exactly what you said.”

“Why shouldn’t cats have angels watching over them?  Cats are nicer than people.”

“Gabe,” said a beautiful angel, sticking his head through the cloud. “There’s a call for you.”

“Tell whoever it is that I’ll get back to him or her.”

“As I was saying,” said Annie, starting to pace back and forth. “Cats are perfect and deserve better treatment than they are getting on that planet.  People are mean but cats are not.  And DON’T tell me that cats aren’t a higher life form because you can’t get much LOWER than humans.  You might be able to send me to earth but I promise you, on my wings, that I won’t stop one single bad thing from happening to any human.  Not one.”

“Why do you insist on being so DIFFICULT.”

“I’m NOT difficult, I’m just not AFRAID of you.  You don’t scare me and I have a mind of my own.  I’m not some robot angel like Kenny.”

“Kenny is a wonderful angel.”

“Sure he is.  He worships you and does everything you tell hm to do.  Who wants to be around anyone like THAT?”

“You can work in the kitchen.”

“No.  I’m going down there to take care of cats, so you can kill me, take my wings, do whatever you have to do but I’m my own angel and I refuse to do things that will make me unhappy.”

“What am I going to do with you?”

“Love me and let me go.”

“Will you check in now and then?”

“I will.  Promise.”

“Then go, little one.  Play with your cats and take care of them.”

“I’ll leave immediately.”

“I’m sure you will.”

“Would you like some gum?” she asked, holding out a pack of bubble gum.

“Thank you, but no.”

“Have a nice day  and you should think about hooking up with your secretary.  He’s pretty and I think he likes you,” said Annie, as she winked out of sight.

“Kids,” said the angel, to no one but himself.

 

 

This entry was posted in Angel, Annie, Short Stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Annie…a short story

  1. Resa says:

    I love this! … A cat guardian angel is just what we need! It would be nice if dogs had guardian angels, too! I know, I know, but you & I are cat people. There are dog people who feel the same.
    Next to cats,dogs are cool in my books. Hmm, people are a bit lower down on my list…. as I can see. Seems goats, cows, deer, rabbits and a slew of others are ahead of us people. The animals all need guardian angels, if for nothing else, to guard them from humans.

  2. oh how cool! ❤ A cat guardian angel sounds like a much more important and fulfilling job.

Leave a Reply

