I wrote this poem when THE HANDMAID’S TALE first came out…the photo is what my book looked like when I was finished with it

wimmin
were
stolen
taken
right
off
the
street
beaten
into
submission
on
both
hands
and
feet
they
were
given
new
clothing
new
manes
different
jobs
in
spite
of
their
panic
their
terror
their
sobs
the
enforcers
were
female
right-wing
of
course
showing
neither
compassion
friendship
remorse
naturally
men
wanted
their
usual
thing
raping
and
pillaging
an
exciting
new
fling
but
death
often
comes
at the
end
of
a
knife
held
in
the
hand
of
a
surrogate
wife

 

*****

The following are pages from the book.

These are just a few of the pages.  I was so furious after I read the book that I didn’t do a very good job tearing it up and it was a long time ago.  I may do a new one.  Dead women hanging in the square.  Women beaten into submission.  Women used as tools to control other women.  Men getting what they want.  Women used and thrown away.  The ending was great.  Dead guy.  Justice.

 

 

This entry was posted in Books, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I wrote this poem when THE HANDMAID’S TALE first came out…the photo is what my book looked like when I was finished with it

  1. Resa says:

    Your ripped book is a work of art!

  2. Wow what powerful images… ya know i just recently got a used copy of the book…still haven’t read it.

  3. Definitely a must read. I’m afraid that nightmare could come true now, more than ever.

Leave a Reply

