It’s not that late…

“I’m late.”

“For what?” asked Gwen.

“I’m late.”

“You’re not.”

“I’m not?

“I don’t think so.”

“But the Tea Party!”

“The Tea Party never really ends and there is no certain time that you have to be there. Even when you’re there you sometimes think that your late for somewhere else.”

“I do?” asked the very large and very well dressed Rabbit.  “That doesn’t make any sense.”

“I agree but your character was written that way.”

“Why?”

“I don’t know,” said Gwen.  “What I do know is that once you find out what’s actually going on, you can change whatever you don’t like.  So you can stop thinking that you’re late, if that’s that you want to do.”

“I don’t want to be late,” said the Rabbit, firmly.  “I’m tired of running around and never getting to look at anything but this big gold watch.  And even if I was late…so what?”

“That’s the attitude!” said Gwen, raising her hand for a furry pawed high-five.”

“That was easy,” said the Rabbit merrily.

“Now you can do anything you like.”

“But what do I like?  All I’ve ever done is run around trying not to be late.”

“I don’t know what you’d like to do. I guess you’ll have to try different things until you find something you enjoy doing.”

“Okay,” said the Rabbit. “Perhaps I can take up…um…being on time.”

“I don’t think that’s any different from trying not to be late,” said Gwen, shaking her head.

“Oh, yes.  I see what you mean.”

“How about painting, or gardening, or just hopping around visiting your friends.”

“Gardening would be lovely and I could eat everything I grow.”

“That’s true.”

“Maybe you could find a sweet girl bunny and….”

“Lots to think about,” said the Rabbit, rubbing his ear, then adjusting his monocle.  “Lots to think about.”

“Yes there is and you haven’t been able to think about anything before because….”

“…I was always looking at my watch and worrying about being late.”

“Maybe you could work for the Hatter.”

“He’s completely mad, you know.”

“Still,” sighed Gwen. “It would be something to do.”

“If he would have me.”

“You could spend more time with Alice and you could be nice to the Mouse who lives in the teapot.”

“He’s a lovely fellow,” said the Rabbit, smiling.  “I could also have some new jackets made.”

“You have a lot of options and things will get easier as you go along.”

“Thank you for your help,” said the Rabbit, bowing from the waist.   “May I have your carrots?”

“Of course and good luck to you.”

“Thank you,” he said, as he walked away, shaking his cotton tail, a carrot hanging out of his  mouth. “Thank you very much.”

“Elvis?” said Gwen, softly, as she picked up her book and headed back to the library.  “Thank you.  Thank you very much.”  She started laughing, as she pictured the Rabbit on stage with a black wig, a scarf and a guitar.

 

This entry was posted in Short Stories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s not that late…

  1. Coyote from Orion says:

    Maybe Alice was trying to say she might be pregnant?
    I guess if she becomes a mother she will know all about not being listened to on a whole new level.

  2. ❤ another great one… these are quite fun

Leave a Reply

