Morgan le Fay…short story

“Nice outfit,” said Gwen, looking at the beautiful woman in the gauzy pants and veils.

“Why?  Why did you tell him of my plan?” hissed Morgan.  “Merlin put a spell upon Uther Pendragon, a man who lusted after and raped Ingraine, as he pretended to be her husband.  Anna, Ingraine’s daughter, stood by, unable to help her mother.  Merlin did that, knowing that Ingraine would become pregnant with Arthur, so that he could rip him from her arms minutes after he was born.  He wanted him to gain power for himself.  That’s the kind of man Merlin is and you stopped me from putting him down.”

“I…”

“Fix it.”

“Excuse me?”

“Change things back to the way they were and do it now!”

“I don’t know how.  But I’ll do whatever I can to help you put an end to Merlin.”

“What can be done, now that he suspects me of treason?”

“You’re his equal.  Surely you can think of something.”

“You don’t know him.”

“Can the Lady of the Lake help you?”

“I don’t think so.  She’s powerful but never leaves the water.”

“Anyone from Avalon?”

“I’m on my own.”

“I have an idea,” said Gwen happily, digging around in her backpack.  “I don’t know if it will work, since I’m not sure what you can actually bring back to Story, but it’s worth a try.”

“What is this?”

“It’s a gun.  You don’t have them yet but you don’t need a spell to get rid of Merlin, if you have a gun.  You just point it at his heart, and pull the trigger.  This is the trigger,” said Gwen, pointing it out.   “Be sure to stand far enough away from him so he can’t take it out of your hands. Hold it like this,” she continued, demonstrating the proper way to hold a revolver.  After you shoot him in the heart, immediately shoot him between the eyes.”

“This will stop him?”

“Definitely.   But only if the gun will fire where you come from.  I don’t know that it will, since guns don’t actually exist in your time period.”

“Why are you doing this?”

“I think rapists, even vicarious rapists and kidnappers are a plague that needs to be stopped. There are only three bullets in the gun.  Shoot him in the heart, you have a better chance of hitting him and then shoot him  in the head.  Don’t miss and he won’t ever get up again.  If you can create a spell that will let the bullets fly true, do it.”

“Than you but I’m afraid I have nothing to give you in return.”

“We women have to stick together, don’t we?”

“I’ve always thought so.”

“One question.”

“Yes?”

“Are you Arthur’s half sister?”

“I am and he was never in my bed, nor I in his.”

“Good to know,” said Gwen.  “Sandwich?”

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Short Stories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Morgan le Fay…short story

  1. reocochran says:

    Wow, nothing like turning this legendary story on its head! Imagination is good. I never felt Merlin’s magic created a feeling of “rape.” I loved Arthurian legends. This realistic element and possibility made me sad.

  2. Oh wow i wasn’t expecting that… i hope the gun worked 🙂

Leave a Reply

