Jack of Hearts…Chapter 45

“Do you ever think about the people you kill?” asked Tim.

“What do you mean?” said Ace, taking a bite out of a brownie.  “Why would I?”

“What do you think about when you’re doing it?”

“I hope I’m faster and smarter than they are.”

“Good answer,” he said, wiping powder sugar off her lip with his thumb.

“Look.  I just flip a switch and my feelings go away so that I can concentrate and stay alive.  I take out the bad guys, so they can’t hurt people any longer.  It’s quiet in that space.  It’s nice.  I like it there.  I’m not attached to what I do.  It’s no big deal so don’t get all weird on me.”

“Okay,” he said. “It’s just that…”

“If you can’t handle who I am or what I do, just leave.  I love my life and I’ll love it with or without you in it.”

“That’s cold,” he said shaking his head.

“It’s the truth,” said Ace, grabbing another brownie off the plate before the crow reached for it.

“Caw!” he said.

“You’re too slow, bird of mine.”

“Caw.”

“Yeah, tell it to the cat,” she mumbled.

Tim put his arms around her and took a bite of the brownie.  “I’m not going anywhere.  I think you’re amazing and exciting.  I’m falling in love with you and, truthfully, I’d follow you anywhere.”

“Great,” she sighed, pushing him away.  “You’ve just become a liability.”

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Jack of Hearts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jack of Hearts…Chapter 45

  1. “You’ve just become a liability.”
    now that is a bit harsh LOL

Leave a Reply

