Jack of Hearts…Chapter 37

“Tell me about the ghost,” said Tim, shoving a scoop of ice cream into his mouth.

“Face Recognition came up empty.”

“Okay, but what about the ghost?”

“So, you’ve never been arrested and you’re not in the system.”

“Good, but tell me about Dex.”

“He’s a little over six feet tall, with hazel colored eyes, bulging muscles, and beautiful mocha colored skin.  He has a fantastic smile and…”

“Great,” said Tim.  “I had to ask.”

“He’s actually an old guy in a worn suit.  He’s about five feet six inches and he smiles a lot.”

“How long has he been here?  Did he come with the apartment?”

“No.  I found him wandering around on the street, so….”

“You told him he could live with you.”

“Yes.  I think he goes out a lot, but he usually comes back when the sun goes down.”

“Caw.”

“How many brownies can that bird eat?” asked Tim.

“As many as we have, I guess.”

“Why can’t I see the ghost?”

“I have no idea,” said Ace, pressing his fingers onto an ink pad.  “Maybe your prints will tell us something, but I doubt it.”

There was a soft tap on the door.

Ace pulled her gun and tiptoed to the door.

“No one’s home,” she said.

“It’s me.  Queenie.”

“Oh.” said Ace, opening the door.  “Com on on in.”

“I just wanted to stop by and thank you for what you did for me and for my beautiful dogs.”

“My pleasure.  You would have done the same for me.”

“Yes, well,” she said, her heavily bandaged hands, resting on her lap.  “Here’s a token of my deep appreciation,” she added, trying to push a small box toward Ace.

“Queenie, I don’t want anything for helping you.  That’s not the way it works, you know that.  You’re my friend, it’s my job.”

“Please take it.  I think you may need it in the future.  Did you know they broke one of Gretchen’s ribs?” she said, her eyes welling up with tears.  “It almost punctured her lung.”

“I’m so sorry,” said Ace.  “I’m sure she’ll be fine, greyhounds are tough babies.”

“Who’s the guy?”

“My cousin.”

The Queen burst into laughter.  “Thank you for that,” she gasped.  I haven’t laughed since I was captured.

“Why does NO ONE believe me?”

This entry was posted in Jack of Hearts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jack of Hearts…Chapter 37

  1. hmmm i wonder why no one believes her lolol

Leave a Reply

