Jack of Hearts…Chapter 24

“So Joseph and Ian,” said Ace, handing them each a drink.  “Nice to have you on board.”

“You have a calming home,” said Joseph.

“Thank you.”

“I never thought you would let us come here, us being killers and all,” he said, smiling. “Trust is an important thing between an employer and employee.

“Well, Joseph, I’m a killer too but you are absolutely right,  trust is important.”

“This is a much more relaxed atmosphere,” said the shorter man.

“Thank you, Ian.  I’m glad you think so.”

“So, what do you want us to do?” he asked, putting down his drink.

“Take the day off, enjoy yourself.”

“What do you mean?” the men said in unison.

“I mean, I don’t know exactly what I’m going to do yet.  Any information you can give me would help, of course, but I don’t demand ratting out your former employer.  I would never ask you for anything you didn’t offer freely.”

“What’s she saying?” whispered Joseph.

“She’s saying we don’t have to narc on anyone unless we want to.”

“That’s class,” said Joseph, sitting up straighter.

“I want to stop the trafficking of other-worldly beings.  I want to put your former employer out of business.  Will you help me?”

“It’s not gonna be easy,” said Ian.  “But I’m in.”

“Me too,” said Joseph.  “You’re a good boss, Ace.”

“Think about how we can shut them down and we’ll meet here again tomorrow.  Same time.”

The two men stood.  Shook Ace’s hand and left.

“Do you trust them?” asked Tim.

“I’m not sure I trust anyone, but I’m willing to give them a shot.”

This entry was posted in Jack of Hearts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Jack of Hearts…Chapter 24

  1. Heartafire says:

    Great to read you stories again, welcome back, missed you!

  2. GP Cox says:

    You liked this over at Hollie’s site ‘Heartafire’ so I thought I’d bring you one of your own.

  3. Thank you. Love the picture. Adorable. 🙂

Leave a Reply

