Okay, so…

This is what I learned…

A couple of weeks ago, Debbie and I went for a walk through Wright Woods.  It’s a lovely forest preserve by her house.  Now, I’ve told you a million times that I’m a city girl but walking through the woods is okay, once in awhile. We ate lunch on a picnic table and she was really into it.  I was watching the few people walking by and listening to the trees talk to each other.  We walked for a bit and then sat down on a bench.  About five minutes later I said, “I could live here.  Right on this spot.  Everything is perfect.”  And it was.  See, it’s not that I don’t like the country/rural areas,  it’s just that I never found the right spot.  Place is everything.  Nothing else in the entire woods made me feel the way that one spot did.

If we want to be happy and balanced…we need to find those spots and realize how essential they are to our well being.  I was comfortable and happy on that spot, just that one spot.  I imagined growing up on that tiny bit of grass by the wee pond, hidden from everything else…making up stories and talking to frogs. It was my spot…the only spot I found that day but if we pay attention we always know when we find one.  I live in a spot, so I’m cool with that but the feeling I got from the place in the woods made me recognize the importance of PLACE and made me see that there are more spots just waiting to be found.

This entry was posted in Philosophy of life and other good stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Okay, so…

  1. lisakunk says:

    I’m glad you found your spot. I have several spots that make me happy. Everybody needs one.

  2. orionwriter says:

    I used to find spots under trees as a kid, especially in my grandparents backyard. Now some of my spots have become places where I go with my friends, or even my room. Anywhere that I can feel comfortable. I’ve always found myself special places in bookstores and libraries too. Whenever I’m in those spaces I feel relaxed, and time passes without me noticing.

    • Ah, a kindred spirit. I did/do the same things. Bookstores are like another universe. Just love to spend time there and trees are one of my favorite things. I’m definitely drawn to certain “spots” and can feel that they are right as soon as I step into one. 🙂

  3. Oh i love it! Happy you found it 🙂

    • I could see a whole life time while sitting there. I could almost see my self grow up, playing by the water and just having fun. It was great. The minute we walked away from that spot the feelings were gone. Just like that.

Leave a Reply

