Here’s another thing…

Why do people, who know that I’m  anti-religion, say they will pray for me?  If it’s okay for people to say that then maybe I should start saying, “I won’t pray for you,” right?  Why do people think they are being kind by including me in something I don’t want to be involved in?  To me it’s like saying I’ll eat an animal for you because you don’t believe in eating animals.  Yes, it really is the same thing.  Their beliefs seem to give them the right to include me in something I’m against.  And they really do seem to think they are being nice, kind or whatever they believe, so if my beliefs are equal then saying that I won’t pray for them should be as meaningful.  The funny thing is that people expect me to smile and say thank you when they say they will pray for me.  Would they thank me for not praying for them?  People should think about what they say to others.  Wishing good things for others is wonderful…praying for them is not…at least for some of us.

Clarification:  When someone is suffering people say they will pray for you to ease your suffering.  I’m writing about those who say they will pray for you when you don’t AGREE with them, or act the way they would like you to act.  They pray so that you see the LIGHT and become SAVED or more like them, or the way they want you to be.

This entry was posted in Politics/Herstory and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Here’s another thing…

  1. HermitCrab says:

    I think for religious people, saying they’ll pray for you is more for them than for us. When you hear about someone else’s sorrows, don’t you wish with every fibre of your being to offer consolation? So while they may say they’re praying for “you,” I think it is largely their own way to cope with suffering and feel better. I don’t think there we should deny anyone from saying that simply because we don’t believe in religion.

  2. gserpent says:

    It is because we are an infant race. It is the equivalent of running and telling daddy that you are not doing what they want you to do. So daddy make them do what I want them to do. It’s as simple as that. We need to grow up.

  3. Heartafire says:

    I think it is done out of habit , sometimes out of pity for how woefully we have strayed from the path of good and how they need to redeem us. I can’t go for that.

Leave a Reply

