Whole Foods…

I went to Whole Foods yesterday.  When I was checking out the woman kept looking at me, then at my food.  I had an Ancient Grain bread, my very favorite, a French Boule, Pretzel bread sticks, two small French breads, a bag of granola cereal, rice and a container of tofu cubes.

I said, “I’m not afraid of carbs.”

She started laughing, another woman came over to bag my order and we spent the next 10 minutes talking about bread and how we liked to eat it.   The store was kind of empty so we could drool and tell our favorite bread stories.  I like to heat the pretzel breadsticks, slice them open, then cut up Baby Bell cheese into bits and stick the bits inside the hot bread, so the cheese melts. The Bagger said she likes them with mustard.  We talked about rye bread and pumpernickel, as well.  We were all smiling and laughing, as we groaned and made small yummy noises.  It was nice talking to people who weren’t terrified of food.  The Checker asked if I wanted a fork and I said, “Sure.”  I was now in possession of a fork and that meant I had to use it, right?  So, I sat in my toasty car, listening to music, while I ate bread and tofu right out of the bag.   It was delicious and I was happy.  Love carbs but I’m half Italian, so if I don’t eat bread everyday my grandmother will come back from wherever she is and give me “the look.”   If you knew my grandmother, you would understand that I truly have no choice.

The moral of the story:  Buying bread can be a lot of fun.

This entry was posted in food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Whole Foods…

  1. Heartafire says:

    I am not afraid of carbs either! I read a great (and hysterical) article on what communities are worthy of having a Whole Foods…

  2. maedez says:

    My ex-husband is 100% Italian (he and his brother were the first two in his family born in America), and, my goodness…I ate so many carbs during that marriage! Those five years were definitely the high-water mark of my carb intake! Bread is amazing, though.

    • I understand completely. Bread with every meal, use it to sop up the sauce, right? LOL My dad was first generation here. My mom was Swedish. You can only imagine what that was like. Heavy Italian food and light as air food and desserts on the other side. Best of both worlds.

Leave a Reply

