My mother’s child…poem

I
was
my
mother’s
child
her
only
child
not
the
child
she
wished
for
but
her’s
none
the
less

 

I
climbed
trees
and
fences
played
with
snakes
hated
ruffles
and
dresses
loved
levi’s
and
cowboy
boots
I
rode
horses
and
carried
a
squirt
gun
just
in
case

 

I
did
what
I
wanted
to
do
I
was
rogue
a
wild
child
who
didn’t
believe
in
rules

 
I
owned
my
own
life
from
the
very
beginning

 

I
was
my
mother’s
child
her
only
child
and
even
though
I
knew
she
wanted
me
to
be
different
than
I
was
she
never
punished
me
for
not
being
the
child
she
wished
for

 
for
that
am
forever
grateful

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My mother’s child…poem

  1. That she did not try to ‘fix’ you is probably her greatest gift to you.

Leave a Reply

