The boy with stars in his eyes…

“You have starts in your eyes,” I said, staring at him.

“You’re the only one who can see them,” he chuckled.  “They’re there just for you.”

I laughed but kept looking.

“I see the sun in your eyes,” he said, “and you know what that means, don’t you?”

“That you’re the only one who can see it and that it’s there just for you?”

“Well, that too, but it means we’re perfect for each other.  I’ll cool you off and you’ll heat me up.”

“Kind of a yin and yang thing?”

“No, more like a madly in love thing.”

“That’s way better than yin and yang.”

“Tell me your dreams and I’ll make them all come true.  Tell me what you want and I’ll give it to you.”

“It has to last forever.”

“You’re thinking to small,” he whispered, kissing me.

“You’re such a bad boy,” I smirked.  “You’re always getting into fights.  I like that about you,” I said, running my finger over the new stitches above his right eye.  It’s a good thing you always win.”

“You’re a bad girl,” he said, grinning.  “You’re a little wild, you know that don’t you?  And you fight more than I do.”

“I won’t be easy and I’m probably never going to change.  I might even get worse.”

“I’ll never be bored.”

“You won’t leave me on earth alone?”

“Never,” he said, shaking his head.  “It will be fun. I promise.”

“Will you let me die first?” I asked.  “Because I don’t want to be here without you, not even for a minute.”

“If that’s what you want, then yes.”

“Nothing will keep us apart?”

“Nothing,” he said, taking my hand.  “Ever.”

 

 

We were only fourteen, so we forgot to factor in death.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

