Art and the philosophy of life

1289058826702c234c8434737c182e8f

Comments on: "Blue doors, red leaves…" (18)

  1. Heartafire said:

    Oh, how I love this!

    • Seriously, American’s need to do something with our doors. They are so blah and bland. They are cookie cutter doors without personality or beauty. There is little to no artistry on most of our doors and we can change that. Ours need to be study, of course, but we can still make them unique and beautiful.

      • Heartafire said:

        I know, the older doors in Europe are so amazing. and so short…my husband had to bend down to get through them!

      • LOL That’s true. They are either to the ceiling (in the big new hotels) or short, as you said. LOLOL

      • Heartafire said:

        it’s been more than ten years since I was over there, I don’t recall any tall ones…times have changed ,lolol!

      • No, these are the old ones. The rich men used to build churches to brag and show off their wealth. They are old and within sight of each other. Tall is relative in Italy. Not like skyscrapers, just bigger than the other buildings. Lots of spires and things, trying to get some height:) I went into a couple very old, almost empty churches that really seemed to be for the people. No seats, no glamor, just one or two statues that were unadorned and looked like they might have been made out of plaster and they felt do different and they were so much nicer.

      • Heartafire said:

        Yes, the cathedrals! the little houses and hotel rooms are very short!

      • Heartafire said:

        I rented the top floor of a private home in Germany, the doors were very small. not for me, I am just 5 ‘ 4”…but for my over 6 feet husband, he had to bend his head, we got used to it! haha.

      • That is so funny. I’ve watched travel shows and I’ve see the giant Americans trying to maneuver through the slanted ceilings and through the short doors. It’s funny to watch but impossible to live in some of the places:)

    • Agree:) I’m definitely going to do something with my front doors this summer. My back door has the moon and stars on it and ruins around the window. I did it years ago but I might redo it this summer as well. We don’t need to have plain doors, that’s for sure.

Leave a comment